The Stamford Museum & Nature Center in Stamford, Connecticut officially opened to the public on June 27, 1936.
The Museum features art, natural and agricultural sciences, and history.
The Stamford Museum & Nature Center was established in 1936. Local surgeon Dr. G.R.R. Hertzberg founded the Museum, which were three rented rooms showcasing a natural science collections.
In 1939, the Museum became incorporated. In 1945, the eight acres E.Y. Weber Estate was deeded to the city, and the carriage house was leased to the Museum. "A small barnyard and a wildlife area were constructed. Art exhibits came into full bloom. A convertible planetarium was constructed, and the weather station was born."
In the mid-50s, construction of the Connecticut Turnpike took away six of the Museum's eight acres in Courtland Park, forcing a relocation.
In the late 1920s, designer and department store owner Henri Willis Bendel (1868 - 1936) commissioned architect Perry Barker to build him a mansion styled after a British Tudor manor house. His estate of 80 acres of woodland and 3 buildings became the Museum's home in 1955.
By 1980, with more donations and purchases, the Museum's property totaled 118 acres.
The Museum's mission according to their website: "The Stamford Museum & Nature Center is dedicated to the preservation and interpretation of art and popular culture, the natural and agricultural sciences, and history."
"The Museum is a vital cultural and educational resource for the community, and a focal point for family activity and interaction. We seek to inspire creativity, foster self-discovery, promote environmental stewardship, and nurture an appreciation for lifelong learning through exhibitions, educational programs, and special events that enhance the visitor's experience of our unique site."
The Stamford Museum & Nature Center is located at High Ridge Road and Scofieldtown Road, 3/4 of a mile north of the Merritt Parkway in Stamford, CT.
Please refer to the Museum's website for driving directions.
Museum's Conservation Department:
Art conservation is the highly skilled practice of researching, analyzing, restoring and preserving works of art for future generations.
Famed Artworks in Collection:
The Museum has acquired 19th and 20th century American art by artists such as Guy Pene du Bois, Reginald Marsh, Milton Avery, Raphael Soyer, Robert Gwathmey, Max Weber and Arnold Blanch. In addition, art which focuses on New England natural history and Native American art and culture are also featured.
One notable outdoor sculpture is "Ruth" by Giovanni-Battista Lombardi. Made in Rome in 1862, the figurative sculpture combines the Neoclassical and the Romantic styles. The gazebo is "a replica of a small circular temple located in Villa Cimbrone, in Ravello, Italy."
Junior Curator Programs - Grades 5-9
"First established in 1949, our Junior Curator Program is a unique opportunity for children, in grades 5-9, to experience life on a real farm. The program provides an overview of basic animal care and experiential learning on the Heckscher Farm. The Junior Curator Program is the Museum's junior volunteer program and consists of five sessions.
The Stamford Museum & Nature Center posts job opportunities on its website, which may be available in the various departments such as history, science, or art in areas such as curatorial, educational, marketing, public relations, and security so be sure to check the listings regularly. It also posts volunteer and intern positions.
How to Apply for a Job:
Please refer to the Museum's guidelines regarding employment, as you can apply online for a job via the university's human resources department. When a job opening is available, it is typically requested to submit your résumé, with a cover letter to the Museum stating the position which you are applying.
Museum's Contact Info:
The Stamford Museum & Nature Center, 39 Scofieldtown Road, Stamford, CT 06903. Tel:203.322.1646
- Mondays 9:00 am–5:00 pm
- Tuesdays 9:00 am–5:00 pm
- Wednesdays 9:00 am–5:00 pm
- Thursdays 9:00 am–5:00 pm
- Fridays 9:00 am–5:00 pm
- Saturdays 9:00 am-5:00 pm
- Sundays 11:00 am-5:00 pm
- Closed Holidays